From Eternity to Here — Q&A with author Frank Viola

June 9, 2009

From Eternity to Here

Frank Viola has a new book out, From Eternity to Here, that looks like it’s designed to raise our sights and capture us with a larger vision of what God has been up to all along. I haven’t read the book yet, but I got the chance to ask a couple of questions in a virtual interview:

Me: You talk about how we cannot do anything for God, but that it is actually Christ living in us. How can I get more of this, and get out of his way? (Or is that the $6,000,000 question?)

Frank Viola: All of the exhortations in the NT to live by Christ are set in a corporate context. Most all the epistles are written to believing communities that had a shared life in Christ. They were not written to individuals. So the first thing is to be part of your native habitat … a local, living, breathing community of believers who are learning how to live by Christ. Some practical help from someone who has gained some experience in communal living in Christ is of great help as well. Paul, Peter, Timothy, etc. were people who served in this capacity in the first century.

Me: If it’s all about rediscovering an eternal perspective of God’s purposes, do church forms and models matter?

Frank Viola: Yes, very much so. The eternal purpose of God is expressed corporately. Thus those church forms and models that best express God’s eternal purpose should be encouraged and approved. Those that violate the eternal purpose or take away from it should not. I address this very question in detail in my book Reimagining Church.

A number of other bloggers are participating in the interview — kind of like a press conference spread across different blogs — and some have posted book reviews. I want to highlight two I met through Twitter and hope to meet in real life: Chad “Captain” Estes (@Chad_Estes) writes Captain’s Blog, and Joel Black (@JoelBLK) writes Irreligious Canuck. If you like me, odds are good you’ll like them.

OTHER BLOGS PARTICIPATING IN THE “FROM ETERNITY TO HERE” BLOG CIRCUIT

Today (June 9th), the following blogs are discussing Frank Viola’s new bestselling book “From Eternity to Here” (David C. Cook, 2009). The book just hit the May CBA Bestseller List. Some are posting Q & A with Frank; others are posting full reviews of the book. To read more reviews and order a copy at a 33% discount, go to Amazon.com. If you live in the USA, you can also visit your local Family Christian Store to grab a copy. They are having a special promotion this week.

For more resources, such as downloadable audios, the free Discussion Guide, the Facebook Group page, etc. go to the official website: http://www.FromEternitytoHere.org

Enjoy the reviews and the Q and A:
_____

Out of Ur — http://blog.christianitytoday.com/outofur/archives/2009/05/viola.html
Shapevine — www.Shapevine.com (June newsletter)
Brian Berly — www.brianeberly.com
DashHouse.com — www.DashHouse.com
Greg Boyd — www.gregboyd.org/blog
Vision Advance — vision2advance.blogspot.com
David Flowers — ddflowers.wordpress.com
Kingdom Grace — kingdomgrace.wordpress.com
Captain’s Blog — captainestes.blogspot.com/
Christine Sine — godspace.wordpress.com
Zoecarnate — zoecarnate.wordpress.com
Church Planting Novice — churchplantingnovice.wordpress.com
Staying Focused — kimmartinezstayingfocused.wordpress.com
Take Your Vitamin Z — takeyourvitaminz.blogspot.com
Jeff Goins — jeffgoins.myadventures.org
Bunny Trails — bunnytrails.blogspot.com
Matt Cleaver — mattcleaver.com
Jason T. Berggren — blog.jasonberggren.com
Simple Church — www.simplechurchjournal.com
Emerging from Montana — wordofmouthministries.blogspot.com
Parable Life — www.theparablelife.blogspot.com
Oikos Australia — www.oikos.org.au/blog
West Coast Witness — www.WestCoastWitness.com
Keith Giles — www.Keith.Giles.com
Consuming Worship — www.consumingworship.org
Tasha Via — tashavia.blogspot.com
Andrew Courtright — andrewcourtright.blogspot.com
ShowMeTheMooneys! — www.showmethemooneys.com
Leaving Salem, Blog of Ronnie McBrayer — leavingsalem.wordpress.com
Jason Coker — pastoralia.missionaltribe.org
From Knowledge to Wisdom — isthistheway.typepad.com
Home Brewed Christianity — www.homebrewedchristianity.com
Dispossessed — kblog.kevinjbowman.com
Dandelion Seeds — www.homeschoolblogger.com/Dandelionseeds
David Brodsky’s Blog “Flip the tape Deck” — flipthetapedeck.blogspot.com
Chaordic Journey — jeffrhodes.wordpress.com
Renee Martin — www.reneemartinmusic.com/profiles/blog/list
Bob Kuhn — organicchurchnola.wordpress.com
Real Worship — therealworshipleader.com
Fervent Worship — ferventworship.blogspot.com
Julie Ferwerda Blog — www.JulieFerwerda.com / www.OneMillionArrows.com
What’s With Christina?! — w2christina.blogspot.com
On Now to the Third Level — 080808onnowto.blogspot.com
Irreligious Canuck — www.irreligiouscanuck.com
This day on the journey — guychmieleski.blogspot.com
Live and Move: Thoughts on Authentic Christianity — liveandmove.blogspot.com
Spiritual Journey With God — www.elvineve.blogspot.com
Dries Conje — www.echurch.co.za / www.thejesusfeed.com / www.bookdisciple.com
Journey with Others — journeywithothers.blogspot.com
Christine Moers — www.welcometomybrain.net
Breaking Point — marybethstockdale.wordpress.com
Hand to the Plough — www.handtotheplough.com.au
Jon Reid — That’s here!
Weblight — www.blog.worldwidewebservices.se
D. L. Webster — gzmproductions.com/dlwebster
Searching for the Whole-Hearted Life — wholeheartedlife.blogspot.com

Jon Reid

Posts Twitter Google+

As an American missionary kid who grew up in Japan, I'm a child of two cultures, while not fully belonging to either. This gives me a sightly different view of the world.